Events

 eyes

Joyce Wayne’s Virtual Tour & Book Blast
June 9-27 2014

Publication Date: February 1, 2014
Mosaic Press • Formats: Ebook, Paperback

Joyce Wayne brings to life the complexities of Victorian life, first in County Devon and then in London’s East End. The ‘big picture’ is about one woman’s life, class conflict, religious intolerance, suspicion and betrayal. The central figure is Cordelia, a strong-minded Jewish woman who is caught between her desire to be true to herself and her need to be accepted by English society.Cordelia Tilley is the daughter of a Jewish mother and an Anglican father. Her mother has groomed her for a life in English society while her father, a tough publican, has shown no tolerance for his wife’s social climbing or the conceits of their perspicacious daughter. Cordelia’s mother dies from typhoid fever, she tries to run the family ‘s establishment, she falls prey to a local industrialist, she gives birth to a son, she is tormented by her husband and his family. Finally, she is rescued by suffragette friends and sets off to start a new life in London.The Cook’s Temptation is about a woman who is unpredictable, both strong and weak willed, both kind and heinous, victim and criminal. It is a genuine Victorian saga, full of detail, twists and turns, memorable scenes, full of drama and pathos.

 

Virtual Tour & Book Blast Schedule

Monday, June 9
Review at 100 Pages a Day

Thursday, June 12
Review & Giveaway at Unabridged Chick

Friday, June 13
Book Blast at Literary Chanteuse

Saturday, June 14
Book Blast at Just One More Chapter

Monday, June 16
Review at Book Nerd

Tuesday, June 17
Review at Seaside Book Corner

Wednesday, June 18
Interview at From the TBR Pile

Thursday, June 19
Review at Flashlight Commentary

Friday, June 20
Interview at Flashlight Commentary

Saturday, June 21
Book Blast at Bibliophilic Book Blog

Sunday, June 22
Book Blast at Historical Fiction Connection

Monday, June 23
Book Blast at CelticLady’s Reviews

Wednesday, June 24
Review at Svetlana’s Reads and Views
Book Blast at Broken Teepee

Thursday, June 25
Review at Caroline Wilson Writes

Friday, June 26
Review at Historical Novel Review
Interview at Oh, For the Hook of a Book